In my Room London

For me, without a doubt, what makes the south of London so particular is its people, more precisely the people I know and with whom I have shared my life since I moved to Brixton. Post Code, In my Room” is a series of portraits homage of those friends living in South London, who I met through art projects, Brixton music scene or in specials places like “Clifton Mansion” or “SouthSide”
I felt I needed to give some geographical limit to the project, so I decided to take all the photos within a 20 minutes bicycle ride from Tulse Hill. My journeys took me through Streatham, Mitcham, Tulse Hill, Herne Hill, Brixton and Stockwell. I wanted to take the portraits of my friends in their home environment, where they felt the most comfortable. Using this method allowed m to capture parts of their life through personal objects and activities or daily routine.
These years of relationship gave me the opportunity to approach my friend’s intimacy and freeze a moment in their life. I wasn’t directing the shoot, but rather acting as a mirror, chatting with them and waiting for the right moment to press the shutter.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

